Thanks for Understanding

To all my conservative Republican friends who keep sending me emails about this being “the scariest election ever”:

I know you are all old enough to remember other elections. All of the elections that I remember in my lifetime have featured frantic warnings about how scary the liberals are.

  • I remember being told that “every war in the twentieth century was started by a Democrat,” because they always want to go out and try to fix the whole world instead of taking care of their own people at home.
  • I remember being told how the Democrats want to nationalize all the banks and turn the US into a centrally controlled planned economy.
  • I remember being told that Democrats want to take away all of our civil liberties because they hate the Constitution and the Bill of Rights; that they want to give unlimited power to the president, “just like FDR,” so that he can do whatever he wants without oversight by Congress; that they want to keep us in a perpetual state of war so they can justify arresting people without charging them.
  • I remember being told that the Democrats will never be able to balance the federal budget, because they just can’t help expanding the bureaucracy and spending more money.
  • I remember being told that Democrats can’t protect this country, and someday a terrible terrorist attack will happen to us while one of them is president.

You know what? We’ve had a couple of Democratic presidents that I remember, and neither one was all that scary. Carter was boring, and Clinton was a buffoon. I’ll admit that during the 1990s there were a few times when it looked like the Clinton administration was going to start really trying to override the Bill of Rights and some of those scary things would start happening.

However, since September 2001, I have been told over and over that I should be scared . . . really scared . . . because the world was out of control. And because of that, the president had to do some drastic things to keep us safe. Some scary things. But it was OK, because he was a conservative Christian Republican, so we could trust him. OK, fine.

I just wish you would stop telling me how scared I’m supposed to be. I wish you could remember how, many times in the past, people you trusted said you needed to be scared of liberal politicians, but then those scary things didn’t happen. So, maybe all those other times, people were just saying that because they wanted to get you to do something for them. You know, for your own good; kind of like a life insurance salesman.

I also wish you would memorize Isaiah 8:11-13, which says:

For thus the LORD spoke to me with mighty power and instructed me not to walk in the way of this people, saying, “You are not to say, ‘{It is} a conspiracy!’ In regard to all that this people call a conspiracy, And you are not to fear what they fear or be in dread of {it.} ” It is the LORD of hosts whom you should regard as holy. And He shall be your fear, And He shall be your dread.

Thanks for your understanding.

–Dave

**************************************************************************************

To all my liberal Democrat friends:

Thanks for not overwhelming me with stuff about how wonderful Obama is. It’s probably because you’re so sure he’s destined for glory that you don’t need to go overboard.

However, I don’t really need to know how stupid and unprepared Palin is, or how McCain is a deceitful, manipulative closet theocrat. All politicians look stupid and unprepared sometimes, and most of them are deceitful and manipulative. Including some of the ones you have voted for. Since I don’t really expect any particular politician to be better than any other person who wins popularity contests and competes for positions of power, I’m not all that concerned.

No politician is going to solve my personal problems or make me a better person. No politician is going to make the obnoxious people around me change their attitudes, shut up, or go away. No politician will give me complete peace of mind about the future or the past.

I know Obama seems kind of like JFK; I mean, if you look at a black-and-white photo of Obama that’s washed out and you squint a little, especially after a couple glasses of wine. However, the comparison is really just an emotional reaction. Other politicians have promised change, for at least a couple thousand years. And, really, a bloated, rotting, roadkill possum could win this election, as long as Bush didn’t endorse him.

I know you are all old enough to remember at least couple of other elections. Politicians have said all kinds of things that sounded good but just didn’t happen. Obama is just another junior politician who speaks well.  He’s not Bush, but he’s also not a resurrected JFK. After he’s elected, he isn’t going to perform any miracles; and you’ll still live in the same country, with the same federal bureaucracy and the same congressional lobbyists; and there will still be mean people who scare you. And you won’t be able to blame all of your problems on the Right Wing Nuts.

I wish you would try to remember that the government can’t solve everything for you, and stop waiting for politicians to make your life better.

Thanks for your understanding,

–Dave

Instigate some pointless rambling

