Die Quickly or Get Rich

Apparently, some congressman named Grayson has mouthed off about how the Republicans’ health reform strategy is to let the sick “die quickly.” Sad, but true.

I may try to formulate a rational approach to health care policy, but the bottom line is that it is not some kind of idealistic crusade for me. The bottom line is that if I run out of rationalizations, I’m not going to argue about it.

In my experience, all it takes is one spell of unemployment, coupled with an intractable, expensive health condition, in order to become radicalized about the issue. Twenty years ago, I used to care about libertarian and conservative principles in all things; not any more. After adding to personal health problems with expensive health conditions for my wife and daughter, along with other periods of unemployment, I no longer have any sympathy for people trying desperately to keep their income tax bills down to four figures.

It’s not that I think that I “deserve” free health care, or that people have a “right” to health care of any kind, or that I think everything would be done better by some gigantic central government entity. It’s a simple case of self-defense.

On certain issues, like this one, it’s personal. I may try to be rational about it, but I’m on a slippery slope to becoming feral and thoroughly unprincipled.

Instigate some pointless rambling

