Be Who You Are

Remember when Ilkka went away, because his blogging made some feminists mad and made his wife mad, and he nearly lost his job? Then he chilled out for awhile by writing about card games, and then finally he settled on a more restrained version of his former blog persona.

Then there was Bane. What a raving, self-obsessed, defiantly crude, sick, unhealthy, failed writer he was. I’m sorry for you if you liked him. The only way he would stop growling online was by dying.

Then there was Zapata King, Vox’s flea. “All Vox, All the Time.” Before Vox was comfortable with people murmurring about the Beales, ZK was there to hound him about his inconsistencies and evasions. I think he claimed to be responsible for getting Vox to remove the reference to the SBLC in his tagline.  ZK shifted in and out of this blog-reality until he faded away.

Well, those are the only transient blog personas I can think of, since I don’t get around that much. I used to consider scrapping my own blog persona, but then I thought, what difference does it make? Maybe someday it will make a difference and I’ll transmute into someone else, or maybe I’ll take John Davison’s advice and be who I am in meatspace.

6 thoughts on “Be Who You Are

  1. One final one for the good times. I didn’t say I was going away from the blogosphere. The blogosphere past referred to an initial discovery of blogging to where I made initial connections with people and bloggers. I can’t debate through blogs. Every comment becomes a mini-amature-dissertation. There’s not much return for that much effort. I want to be a detached observer until I can provide some better content, and even then, just say what I have to say without getting all wrapped up in endless debate.

    We were talking past each other a lot in the last comments. I think partly you were talking about how people try to make truth be what majority opinion thinks it is. I was talking about trying to discover truth from listening to a debate between the majority and minority.

    In the context of reading someone to look for ideas, for time efficiency, you have to have a certain amount of trust in a person’s basic outlook on life, the context.

    Once that trust is blown, given that it’s an investment of time to read someone and try and figure out what they’re saying, it doesn’t make sense to stick with them anymore when there’s so many sources of information.

    • There is no truth content in a debate between a majority and a minority, at least not in a democracy. The truth is that the power relationship is asymmetric and the majority can choose to ignore the minority, demonize the minority, or patronize the minority.

  2. I know what you mean. Every now and then I browse through someone else’s blogroll and look at the sites once. If they look interesting I put them on my blogroll for awhile. Then after a couple of months I visit them again, and if they haven’t posted or they’ve started on some silly hobby-horse, I delete them from my blogroll. I don’t actually have time to visit most of them very often, so I just kind of use my blogroll as a Rolodex.

    Yes, I know the difference between a blog persona, another blog persona, a commenter persona, and the person blogging, commenting, or lurking. That was JD who wanted to pretend they are all the same, all the time.

    Maybe I would care about inspiring trust if I had a genuine public persona. That’s what it would mean to take JD seriously and give up all anonymity and pseudonymity. It would mean creating a trustworthy public persona, with its concomitant audience, networks, peers, constituents, clients, and patrons; and then forcing myself in real life to be consistent with that public persona out of obligation to it.

    That sounds too much like being a grown-up.

  3. “…and then forcing myself in real life to be consistent with that public persona out of obligation to it.

    That sounds too much like being a grown-up.

    Or a person toeing some party line, which I’m sure you’re not interested either.

    You say what got courage to say. You make friends, you lose friends. It doesn’t pay to get too attached.

    • You may not know that I was an Army brat. I don’t really have a concept of social permanence programmed into me like all of you normal folks who grew up outside the “fortress.”

  4. I hate it when I’ve logged into WordPress and hit the submit button without knowing I was logged in. That really blows one’s ability to operate semi-anonymously.

Instigate some pointless rambling

