Public school disaster

Schools: The Disaster Movie

For decades, the conversation about our schools has been the preserve of the education Establishment—and the result has been a system that, with few exceptions, runs the gamut from mediocre to calamitous. Waiting for “Superman” is no manifesto. It offers no quick fixes, no easy to-do lists, no incandescent lightbulbs to unscrew. What it offers is a picture of our schools that isn’t pretty, but that we need to apprehend if we’re to summon the political will necessary to transform them. “Nobody ever wants to call a baby ugly,” says Duncan. “This is like calling the baby ugly. It’s about confronting brutal truths.”

Looking squarely at those truths will cause the blood of some viewers to reach a roiling boil. Fingers will be pointed, and they should be—directly at the adults who have perpetuated the grotesqueries that consign generation after generation of America’s children to failure. If that leads to some hellacious donnybrooks, so much the better. “If you want to change public education, you have to do something that feels like a threat to the status quo,” says Canada. “If we don’t fight about this, if we can shake and be friends, we ain’t going to change. And if we don’t change, huge numbers of kids ain’t going to make it. There is no Superman coming to save them. All they have is us.”

By “us”, he doesn’t mean a bunch of do-gooder social activists. He means the people who are responsible for children’s education: their parents.

2 thoughts on “Public school disaster

  1. Hello,

    I’ve been following your blog for a bit. Sometimes I’m most likely missing the point… Sometimes I really don’t get it… But mostly, I smile.

    If I got this right, we might not quite agree on a variety of topics.

    But it’s nonetheless quite entertaining to read you. What I appreciate the most is your willingness to put forth opinions. Might sound a bit silly given that most blogs are about someone’s opinion on something… But I find that people have lost the art of opinion. Very few people actually apply any effort to validate their opinions.

    I hate the basic-I-couldn’t-tell-my-ass-from-my-elbow-but-I-know-this-much kind of blahblah that we find everywhere. People who have no clue what they are commenting on but can’t help tell you what their fears inspire them.

    Anyways, if that means anything, I respect what you do here. I try and work on my guts to get what I think out there but I find it so hard to get reliable information to back myself up that I often give up…

    Regards,

    Kacco

    (And if you end up on my page following this comment… out of cusiousity I presume, note that my first language is not English and I make a point to make almost all of my blog posts bilingual… So if you don’t know French, they can become hard to decipher.)

  2. Thanks for your comment, Kacco.

    I’ve found that the opinions I want to write in this blog are a very limited set of what I think. Basically they are opinions that I want to express somehow, but which I don’t want to argue about in person because they aren’t that important.

Instigate some pointless rambling

