The Care Bear Cult

Debunking Christianity: The Anatomy of a Conversion: Richard Morgan, From Atheist to Christian

Now there are lessons here beyond what I’ll write about, but his conversion is troubling. Not that it causes me to doubt. It’s troubling because Morgan represents who we are as human beings, dumb, most of us, most of the time. I see absolutely no connection with those two questions and the conclusion he came to. You see, skeptics do not have to say what would convince them to believe. God should already know. So why isn’t he doing anything to convince us otherwise? I’ve already written my answer to the second question right here, which also answers the first question, why I don’t believe.

Morgan’s testimony is that as human beings we respond to warmth and friendship, even online it appears. We gravitate to the beliefs of someone who is kind and gravitate away from the beliefs of people who are unkind.

Damn I wish it weren’t so, but it is. My claim is that if this is who we are as human beings then we need a reality check based in the sciences. We cannot simply fumble through our lives adopting the beliefs of the people we like, or beliefs that tell a compelling story of love. We need to demand evidence, cold hard evidence if possible, before we’ll believe.

Debunking Christianity: What Would Convince Me Christianity is True?

I have been asked what would convince me Christianity is true. Let me answer this question. . . .

Now, I wouldn’t require all of this to believe. I cannot say how much of this I might need to believe. But I certainly need some of it. If it were offered, I’d believe. However, if I was convinced Christianity is true and Jesus arose from the grave, and if I must believe in such a barbaric God, I would believe, yes, but I could still not worship such a barbaric God. I would fear such a Supreme Being, since he has such great power, but I’d still view him as a thug, a despicable tyrant, a devil in disguise; unless Christianity was revised.

This shows us, indeed, why atheism is a pointless preoccupation for the Christian apologist: Even if the atheist were to believe in God, he would still not be saved. He would not even be almost saved; he would just be sulking and resentful. He would be fearful of the creator of the universe and the sustainer of life, which would be beneficial for him in the long run, but he would still hate having his will thwarted and his personal desires unfulfilled. Among the many dreams that would be crushed would be the possibility of knowing everything in the universe, since if there is an omniscient creator, and you are not Him, then you don’t get to know everything.

“How can we possibly love God if He just isn’t good enough for us?” This is the eternal question from the foolish. No doubt, a tummyache would strike in short order, and the theological edifice would crumble under the weight of one person’s suffering.

5 thoughts on “The Care Bear Cult

  1. Hi Dave,

    I read the atheist conversion testimony that Debunking Christianity linked to. What the testimony reminded me of was the experience of Christian and Faithful at Vanity Fair in Pilgrim’s Progress. The injustice of the others’ actions against them and their bold, loving response won some to their side.

    The testimony also gives me hope for some of my atheist/agnostic friends who would like to believe, but cannot step outside the barriers of their limited reasoning.

    God bless,

    ts

  2. Yes, I thought it was a very good point, that people tend to respond to personal kindness, rather than to intellectual arguments. And John Loftus was offended by this, as though it violated his sense of correctness–his faith in the power of scientific truth to order one’s life. But then, in his personal statement of unbelief, he affirms that even if his beliefs were to change because of empirical evidence, he would still feel hurt and resentful towards Christians.

  3. I think the requests for proof are a little extensive. A range of possible evidences I guess is understandable, but to want more than one incontrovertible proof seems a little demanding.

    Then to say, I will concede you exist God, but I will still judge you evil and tyrannical with my puny finite mind that you made seems a little haughty.

    One think I think is important to consider is does knowledge affect judgement. To whom has been given much and all that. If it is the case that the more men know and reject, the greater the judgment; then the only merciful option for God is to refuse revelation of himself to a man who has pre-committed himself to rejecting obedience a priori.

  4. Let’s proof read

    One thing I think is important to consider is: does knowledge affect judgment? To whom has been given much and all that. If it is the case that the more men know and reject, the greater the judgment; then the only merciful option for God is to refuse revelation of himself to a man who has a priori committed himself to rejecting obedience.

  5. It isn’t so much that God would refuse revelation of himself; some of His attributes are evident within us (Romans 1:19) and in creation (Romans 1:20).

    Rather, the special signs that John is seeking won’t change his heart, and he knows it. So, it is deceptive even for him to claim that he wants evidence or wants to debate. What he says he wants is ultimately a Christianity that doesn’t contradict his sensibilities. That may have to do with politics, science, sex, or something else; I haven’t read his blog enough to know.

    It reminds me of what Gerald McDermott recently wrote in First Things, in an article that John linked to a few days ago:

    “These days the most common temptations are to argue in neo-pietist fashion that doctrine and morality are finally unimportant as long as believers experience warm feelings about Jesus and engage in ministry to the world, and to reduce Scripture to the human expression of religious experience, finding revelation somewhere other than in the biblical text itself.”

Instigate some pointless rambling

