Possibly an Anarchist

Okay, Frankie T. has probably forgotten all about me after I got caught up with meatspace life and failed to deliver on my promise. Or maybe he’ll wander back over here to tell me how unsatisfactory and putrid I am no matter what I write.

I used to be very diligent about analyzing what people wrote, poring over every line like a tenth-grade English teacher and carefully responding to every point. I discovered that it is pointless to do that on other people’s blogs because either (a) they will treat me like a troll regardless, just because I am not stroking them hard enough and fast enough; or (b) they will complain that since I have not read all 10,000 posts they wrote over the last 15 years, I cannot possibly critique one particular post, and then they will treat me like a troll.

On this blog I tried to do the same careful analysis with a dimwit named Ed. He seemed so promising as a loyal adversary because he acted very sincere and knowledgeable, yet misguided. So I spent hours and weeks and months looking up all his citations, in print and on the web, through multiple library visits and Interlibrary Loan requests, only to discover that he was either brain-damaged or else alternately stupid and lying. I even boiled it down to a test case of a single claim from a single author, and he failed to pass The Atheist Test, that is, the standard test used by atheists to evaluate theists.

The Atheist Test is where I carefully consider your claim, and if I don’t think it is possible based on my personal gut feeling, I conclude that (a) whatever you claim to be true is false; (b) whatever you say is an attempt to manipulate and subjugate me; and (c) you are insane. So much for Ed.

I am not going to grant Frankie T. the free wash and wax like I implied, because I don’t actually care how misguided he is, or if he really is misguided at all. I’m just going to clarify what I wrote previously.

The main reason why I suspect that Frankie T. is wrong about Christian Anarchism is because he is in agreement with the majority of Christians. Any atheist who agrees with a majority of theists on a particular topic has some unexamined assumptions somewhere. It’s not my job to examine him if he can’t get his head out of his own assumptions.

On this page, I wrote an insufferably obsequious comment, which I will elaborate below.

Political hierarchy exists in this world to govern our behavior, perhaps even our thoughts, but it actually carries no metaphysical weight. It has no cosmic significance; it does not transcend human society in any way.

Therefore, all human political hierarchy is meaningless and will ultimately pass away; and I as a citizen of a transcendent kingdom am not subject to human political hierarchy at all.

The objection will be made by a Christian, although not by an atheist, that in fact God establishes authority on the earth to rule us, and we are to be subject to it so that we may enjoy peace and order while on earth.

I reply that I will suffer whatever consequences there may be for contravening authorities established on earth, since God has promised that I must.

However, I maintain that the law is for the lawless, whereas I have the law of Christ in my heart. I am not subject to the earthly principalities and powers; I am subject to the Lord alone. That, I maintain, is Christian Anarchism.

4 thoughts on “Possibly an Anarchist

  1. No, I didn’t forget about you at all! I was waiting for you to write this reply!

    It was about what I expected. I did not expect you to grapple with the issue, and you didn’t. So your prediction was correct: I do find it extremely unsatisfactory. However, I cannot vouch for your putridness or lack thereof!

    • Thanks for coming back to let me know. No, I don’t want to grapple with the issue of why atheists think a non-existent being is oppressive. It is purely a psychiatric problem for them.

      However, after a rare moment of cautious reflection, I have managed to perceive how my claim is defective from an anarchist standpoint. It is because I am not advocating destroying the earthly powers. I don’t think that is pertinent to my broader point, but is merely due to my current preference for comfort and ease.

      I do not believe it would be inconsistent to be a violently destructive Christian Anarchist, but it would not be very nice, and I am young enough to still value the benefits of social capital. Maybe someday, if I lose faith in God’s providence, I could be that way.

      Moreover, I don’t favor setting up a functioning egalitarian society in opposition to the powers of this world. This is also merely for pragmatic reasons. Such utopian societies have always failed eventually and are not worth the effort to maintain. That is not to say it is useless to have informal ideal associations, just that there is no justification in being attached to them or in hoping that they can be sustained over a period of time.

      • “Thanks for coming back to let me know. No, I don’t want to grapple with the issue of why atheists think a non-existent being is oppressive. It is purely a psychiatric problem for them.”

        Apparently you are unable to apply standards of evaluations to fictional characters, and believe that doing so is a mental disease. You must be really boring at parties. Comic book fans and movie fans must outright hate you, because you must keep accusing them of being insane all the time.

        I mean this is laughable stuff! You believe that analyzing fiction is a psychiatric problem!

        “Moreover, I don’t favor setting up a functioning egalitarian society in opposition to the powers of this world. This is also merely for pragmatic reasons. Such utopian societies have always failed eventually and are not worth the effort to maintain.”

        Wow. You’re a supposed Anarchist who has no interest in setting up a more egalitarian society. What is the point then? Is your supposed Anarchism a purely intellectual exercise?

        You are the perfect, perfect example of the academics who write to me trying to explain away the contradiction between Christianity and Anarchism. They either handwave Christianity into nothingness or handwave Anarchism into nothingness. Arguing with such pedants is a waste of time.

        Thanks for “trying” anyway.

Instigate some pointless rambling

